Sisters of War - Lana Kortchik

Sisters of War

Author: Lana Kortchik


  • Publication Date: 2018-12-05
  • Category: Historical
4.5 Score: 4.5
(From 13 Ratings)

Summary

Can their bond survive under the shadow of occupation?

For fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The German Midwife comes this unforgettable tale of love, loss, family, and the power of hope.

Kiev, 1941: Watching the Red Army withdraw from Ukraine in the face of Hitler’s relentless advance, sisters Natasha and Lisa Smirnova realise their lives are about to change forever.
 
As the German army occupies their beloved city, the sisters are tested in ways they never thought possible. Lisa’s fiancé Alexei is taken by the invading army, whilst Natasha falls in love with Mark – a Hungarian soldier, enlisted against all his principles on the side of the Nazis.

But as Natasha and Lisa fight to protect the friends and family they hold dear, they must face up to the dark horrors of war and the pain of betrayal. Will they be strong enough to overcome the forces which threaten to tear their family apart?  

Why readers love Sisters of War:

‘Captivating from the first page’

‘Powerful and heart wrenching’

‘A touching story, beautifully written’

‘Well-researched and fascinating’

Originally published as The Story of Us.

Reviews

'A powerful and hard-hitting novel, it tackles the themes of loyalty and compassion, and emphasizes the hard choices that need to be made in wartime.' Deborah Swift, author of The Lady's Slipper

'The author, Lana Kortchik, has done her homework, and it shows. Her writing style is crisp and vivid, and she gives us dialogue that jumps off the page. I rarely see writing of this quality, and the book was a pleasure to read.' Harry Fox, author of The Stonegate Sword

'Its powerfully descriptive language pulls you in to the bleakness of war, the longing for peace, and the exhilaration of profound, unconditional love.' Marie Silk, author of Davenport House

'Miss Kortchik takes the reader on a whirlwind journey, full of emotions, loss, love, and faith in this well-researched novel.' Heather Osborne, author of Bitter Bonds

'I didn't want this story to end. It's one of those books you hold close to your heart and don't want to let go. By the time I got to the last page I felt I knew these wonderful characters well. Lana talks of such tragedy, hard times, loss, betrayal, sorrow, love and happiness with such class and sophistication for one so young, she left me speechless and wanting more. Such woe was there in this story, but such love, it will melt you.' Sharon Laker, author of The Railway Mice of Countesthorpe

'I cried, smiled, gasped, and laughed while reading this book. It will stay with me long after I've finished it.' J.L. Leslie, author of Tame Me

About the author

Lana Kortchik grew up in two opposite corners of the Soviet Union – a snow-white Siberian town and the golden-domed Ukrainian capital. At the age of sixteen, she moved to Australia with her mother. Lana and her family live on the Central Coast of NSW, where it never snows and is always summer-warm, even in winter. She loves books, martial arts, the ocean and Napoleonic history. Her short stories have appeared in many magazines and anthologies. She was the winner of Historical Novel Society Autumn 2012 Short Fiction competition and the runner-up of 2013 Defenestrationism Short Story Contest. This is her first novel.

Comments