Wrong Alibi - Christina Dodd

Wrong Alibi

Author: Christina Dodd


  • Publication Date: 2020-12-29
  • Category: Women Sleuths
4 Score: 4
(From 60 Ratings)

Summary

Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, New York Times bestselling author Christina Dodd delivers an all-new thriller, featuring a bold and brash female protagonist.

WRONG JOB
Eighteen-year-old Evelyn Jones lands a job in small-town Alaska, working for a man in his isolated mountain home. But her bright hopes for the future are shattered when Donald White disappears, leaving her to face charges of theft, embezzlement—and a brutal double murder. Her protestations of innocence count for nothing. Convicted, she faces life in prison…until fate sends her on the run.

WRONG NAME
Evie's escape leaves her scarred and in hiding, isolated from her family, working under an alias at a wilderness camp. Bent on justice, intent on recovering her life, she searches for the killer who slaughters without remorse.

WRONG ALIBI
At last, the day comes. Donald White has returned. Evie emerges from hiding; the fugitive becomes the hunter. But in her mind, she hears the whisper of other forces at work. Now Evelyn must untangle the threads of evidence before she’s once again found with blood on her hands: the blood of her own family…

“This is Dodd at her brilliant best.”
—Booklist (starred review) on Strangers She Knows

Dodd's twisty suspense will have readers turning the pages and keeping the lights on at night.

Feedback

  • Riveting suspense novel with twists

    5
    By Big Reader17
    Too stupid to live, or just thinks she’s street smart but is in actuality naive? I’ll let you decide. Evie, at 18 was set up to take the fall for a thief and murderer, and never saw it coming. On her way to serve out a life sentence in prison, the stars align and she escapes. What I liked about this book: right from the start, I liked the main character. I liked her even more as she struggled to live in the Alaska wild, taught herself how to be self sufficient, learned the things she wanted to and whatever she needed to survive and find justice for herself and those murdered, and just grew up from a naive kid to someone who really was smart. The supporting characters are relatable: I felt like I knew many of them personally. I cringed when she was walking into trouble. I empathized with her relationship issues. And the laughs. Christina Dodd always makes me laugh. “What does a bear call a camper in his sleeping bag?” Read the book to find out! If you’re looking for a swooning romance, this isn’t it. But if you’re interested in a riveting suspense novel à la The Fugitive but set in Alaska, then I highly recommend Wrong Alibi. After finishing, I was ready to start reading this book all over again. 5 stars. Disclaimer: I was provided this book free of charge in exchange for an honest review.

Comments