The Violinist of Auschwitz - Ellie Midwood

The Violinist of Auschwitz

Author: Ellie Midwood


  • Publication Date: 2020-11-18
  • Category: Fiction & Literature
4.5 Score: 4.5
(From 65 Ratings)

Summary

“Absolutely adored this! Incredibly moving. I had tears welling up and my heart was racing. Did not want to put it down… I felt like I was actually there, I could practically hear the orchestra in the room with me.” Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
 
Based on the unforgettable true story of Alma Rosé, The Violinist of Auschwitz brings to life one of history’s most fearless, inspiring and courageous heroines. Alma’s bravery saved countless lives, bringing hope to those who had forgotten its meaning…
 
In Auschwitz, every day is a fight for survival. Alma is inmate 50381, the number tattooed on her in pale blue ink. She is cooped up with thousands of others, torn from loved ones, trapped in a maze of barbed wire. Every day people disappear, never to be seen again.
 
This tragic reality couldn’t be further from Alma’s previous life. An esteemed violinist, her performances left her audiences spellbound. But when the Nazis descend on Europe, none of that can save her…
 
When the head of the women’s camp appoints Alma as the conductor of the orchestra, performing for prisoners trudging to work as well as the highest-ranking Nazis, Alma refuses: “they can kill me but they won’t make me play”. Yet she soon realises the power this position offers: she can provide starving girls with extra rations and save many from the clutches of death.  
 
This is how Alma meets Miklos, a talented pianist. Surrounded by despair, they find happiness in joint rehearsals, secret notes, and concerts they give side by side ­­­­– all the while praying that this will one day end. But in Auschwitz, the very air is tainted with loss, and tragedy is the only certainty… In such a hopeless place, can their love survive?
 
This devastatingly heartbreaking yet beautifully hopeful tale proves that even in the darkest of days, love can prevail––and give you something to live for. Fans of The Choice, The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Orphan Train will lose their hearts to this magnificent tale.
 
Readers love The Violinist of Auschwitz:
 
If I could give this book ten stars I would! Was sorry when the book finally ended… Will remain with me for a very long time… I absolutely loved this.” Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Wow! Just wowUtterly heartbreaking… I’m speechless.” Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Phenomenal! Absolutely brilliant! This book requires a standing ovation for sure!… Crushingly heart-breaking yet beautiful.” Battle of the Books, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I absolutely loved it!!!… Amazing. It was so beautifully writtenAmazingly well done.” Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Soul-wrenching… I have been through boxes of KleenexEven writing this review I have tears.” Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“I picked up this book this morning thinking I would read for half an hour before I dealt with life for the day. Next thing I know, it’s seven hours later, I’ve got tears streaming down my face, the book is finished and I am wondering how I have gone thirty years without knowing who the incredible Alma Rosé was and the astonishing impact she left on the world.” Apageofwordsandwishes, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Wow! What a read!” Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I was in tears. The tears never left and I read this in one sitting, not from the ease of the read, but from the sheer inability to put it downOh my, I could go on and on… Bravo, Ellie, Bravo!” The Hist Fic Chic, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“I loved this book so much!! I thought the story was both beautiful and heartbreaking I was hooked.” Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
 
Wow. My favorite book of 2020.” Southern Belle Books, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Oh my goodness. Definitely have tissues at hand!” Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“It will make you cry, make you smile and break your heart.” Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Comments